The Kohli Prize
for Sociology

The Kohli Prize for Sociology honors exceptional achievement in and contributions to the field and profession of sociology. The Kohli Prize is rewarded with 50.000 EUR. It is awarded by an international Selection Committee composed of the Board of Directors, the Board of Trustees and two additional members from other world regions.


Nominees should have made a significant imprint on sociological knowledge. The nominee is expected to deliver an address at the Award Ceremony, to be held in alternate years at the European University Institute (EUI, Florence) and the WZB Berlin Social Science Center (WZB).


The Kohli Foundation for Sociology is accepting international nominations for the Kohli Prize for Sociology on an ongoing basis. In addition, we send out a call for nominations each year. Nominations from previous years are kept on file and considered every year. A nomination can be submitted by a scholar based at any institution of higher learning and research (University, research institution, Academy of sciences). Self-nominations and posthumous nominations are not accepted. To diversify our laureate pool, the Kohli Foundation particularly welcomes nominations for women and scholars belonging to academically underrepresented groups. The nominations are confidential and should not be shared with the nominee prior to or after their submission.

Nomination Materials

The nominations must be written in English and should include a short summary of your nomination and a full nomination (of about 2-3 pages) presenting a coherent argument for why you believe the nominee deserves to be awarded the Kohli Prize for Sociology. A nomination should also include a CV and publication list of the nominee as attachments. The Selection committee reserves the right to request follow-up documents if deemed necessary.

Important dates


Deadline for the consideration for the Kohli Prize for Sociology 2023 has passed

MAY 2023

Meetings of the Selection Committee

JUNE 2023

of the Award Winner


Award Ceremony at the EUI